New places to knit/crochet for…

So, about two weeks ago a lady in one of the knitting groups I’m on mentioned a new place she was sending to, and every one in the group wanted to jump on the bandwagon and help. The place is called Bridget’s Cradles and they knit bereavement items for hospitals! They are just little pouches, with a little blanket to cover the baby, and then a little prayer square, so the family can have a personal item to go home with, or to put in a memory box for their lost little one.

I cried and cried as I was reading some of the stories of miscarriages, having had two myself. I remember going home from the hospital, and all I had to show for it was the bills. I had to go home and put away all the little gifts, and outfits, and things we had gotten for our baby, and it was so Hard!!! So, I am over the top happy to be able to provide items to this group to help other mama’s and dads not have that experience!

But the hard part of it all is, there is a big ol sign up thing that you have to do for them, and they want you to sign a thing that says you won’t share the patterns with others, and you won’t knit these same kind of items for other charities, blah blah blah. So, you have to fill all of that out, and then wait for approval, and then wait again for another email with official sizes that they want, and patterns. Well, almost all of the patterns are pretty basic knit stitch, and seed stitch, and waffle patterns that any knitter can do. But I promised, so I’m not sharing official patterns, or sizes. But it’s all pretty general stuff.

After waiting about a week and a half for all of the official paperwork and pattern getting, I am now making little prayer squares for them. So quick and easy, I could make twenty or so a day, if I had more time just to sit and knit. πŸ˜›

Pictures soon of all the stuff. I have hats ready to go out, and a box of items for a nursing home, and another box of items for Visiting Nurses in NY for shut ins, and then all of these bereavement items, and ten baby sweater vests for another charity.

Oh, and this is almost complete too. A Boho beach jacket thing for my sister!Β  She showed me a picture, and asked if I could make her “something like this” and I told her if she didn’t mind having something I experimented on, I’d send it to her. She agreed that she would take a test item. So, here it is, total free styling with my crochet. Finished pics within a week or two. πŸ™‚

20170207_140602

TTYL πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

