Gardeny cooking

Overwhelmed with food right now would be an understatement! SO, I put off dealing with the tomatoes and zucchinis for a week-ish to 10 days, or so. I cannot do that again. Today I washed and sorted three 9×13 pans of tomatoes, most about a little bigger than a golf ball, and then added diced onions, and some potatoes from the garden, to the whole batch of them for bulk, and tomorrow I have to spend all day rotating them in and out of our toaster oven, roasting them all and then shooting them all through the blender to make soup! This time around I am going to put two quart jars of the soup in the fridge for meals, and then I am going to scoop six cups at a time into zip lock bags to freeze them, so the kiddo’s don’t eat every scrap of it up within a few days!

Yesterday we did the whole zucchini thing! Both Emily and me, for like two or three hours, cutting, breading, and frying zucchini, and then portioning it into bags to freeze for side dishes.  All we have to do now is line a baking pan, and heat them up in the oven just like french fries! The rest of the zucchini that we didn’t get to, I just lopped and chopped up into chicken food, and that is all frozen now too!  Feels good saving every scrap of everything from the garden! But, man oh man, the work that went into it all! Totally worth it though, to have such yummy food on hand already done up for quick meals!

Yesterday, I made a small order for Spinzilla also. I got some fiber from the Woolery, and then a spinning wheel repair kit that I probably should have gotten last year! The good thing is, I can use the stuff from one repair kit to repair both of my wheels!  That way I can spin on the Ashford, and do my plying quickly on my Lendrum. The Lendrum is only a single treadle, so I don’t like spinning on it too much, but plying… whhhheeeeeeeeeee!

In knitting news… I am making some baby hats again! I got three done this weekend, and I have yarn out to start another one tomorrow. I’m also working on labeling packages to get them out of here the first of Oct. I’ve spent up all of my mailing money, and a few other dollars I had saved, so just gotta wait for a bit. I do have a few things to post to my Etsy shop though, so maybe a sale will come in and I can get some of these packages out sooner. No biggie either way.

And that’s about all from here! I hope everyone had a wonderful and peaceful weekend.

TTYL 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

