It’s That Time of the Year!

So for the past three years I’ve been doing this, and it works out quite well by holiday time! It’s July 4th weekend and now begins the Halloween Hat Fridays and Christmas Hat Sundays! If you would like to join in, just go ahead and do it along with me!

Since today is the first Sunday after the 4th I am going to start working on Baby Santa/elf hats. White brims with red tops and also blue and green tops too. The hospitals like a variety. Then around October/ November I will start adding pom poms to them all too. So there are about 26 weekends til Christmas and I’m sure I will have more than 26 hats by then to divide up between different hospitals. I think last year I had like 38 hats and divided them up between four places.

And we have 18ish weeks before Halloween too! I’ll be making pumpkin baby hats and candy corn three color hats with loooong decreases to get that point on the top of the hat! So cute. There are lots of other Halloween designs out there too. White ghostie hats and witches hats in black and purple. I like to think of it as giving newborn babies their very first Halloween costumes. 🙂 Last year by Halloween I had about 22 hats to divide up between different places.

So it’s just two days out of the week. At the very least I usually get one hat done a day anyway unless I’m having a terrible horrible off day where things just aren’t going well and I don’t get to knit. But just think how many newborn heads we could get covered if everyone just did one hat a week from now til the holidays!

TTYL 🙂

2 Responses to “It’s That Time of the Year!”

  1. cjc22 Says:

    You have trained me well!!!! About two weeks ago. There was a big golf tournament. I crochet while watching and I love watching so there is plenty of time to do that. I made six red, white, and blue hats and sent them out for patriotic babies. Even though I was not home much this weekend, I managed to get 3 1\2 hats finished. Will do eight more and send them off. Most everything I have been making has been sent to Maine late!y and they are very happy to get them. I will start on Halloween hats next week and the December ones the first of September.
    Do you want more yarn? Or should I wait until you are settled? Let me know.
    Keep smiling and knitting and know you are thought of. Hugs and smiles, Char

    • spinnermom Says:

      Good to hear!!! I love it when I get crafting done that helps others, while I’m just sitting and watching things. I’ve been taking mine to the park and while the kiddo’s play basketball I just sit there and enjoy the birds and the breeze! You can wait to send the yarn til we move. I’m a bit overwhelmed now that we’re taking everything out of the closets again. LOL Can’t wait to be settled again! Knitting is keeping me sane! (((Hugs))) and love to you!


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

