A Bit of Work, A Bit of Fun

So, I’ve been majorly slacking in one area here. Sorting and filing mail. Back in FL I had a file drawer, and I’d go through all the mail every couple of weeks, at the very worst maybe let it go six or seven weeks, and then file the bill stuff, and chuck the waste mail in the trash, and do a bit of shredding, and I was done. Here in CO, I have a box. It’s still set up with all the files from the file cabinet just like the file drawer. But it’s a Box!!!! So I really really dislike doing the filing stuff.

In January/February I *always* empty out last years things into a flex folder, and label it with the year.  I have all the receipts in a big bubble mailer, and I seal that off too, and write the year on the front of that. Weeeeeeeell, guess what?  Nothing got changed this year, and all the mail has been stacking up. Yep, we’ve gone paperless on everything possible, and do loads of online bill pay, but there is still boodles of things that come in the mail, and the dreaded junk mail!!! All of it’s been piling up for the past 6 months, because I don’t want to deal with The Box!!!

Enough is enough though, and I’m dealing with the box.  😦 Enter long rant here about how much I hate paperwork, and filing. Y’all have heard that enough times, eh? So, I am on day two of sitting in this pile of crap, and sorting and shredding, and I think I am going to have two kitchen size trash bags for the dumpster! Whew! It doesn’t seem like that much when it’s all nicely packaged in the original envelopes, but once you get to opening everything it expands like a foam mattress. LOL

I’ve also been having some fun!!!! I ninja’ed the Kumihimo braid maker back from my daughters. They haven’t worked on the one they were doing in about two months, so I asked Cassie about it, and she was doing a flat braid but had forgotten what she was doing, so she said she was done with it. I can’t stand to waste the yarn, so I brought it out here and used the last of her light grey, dark grey, and white to make a boxed braid. Ended up with five feet of her flat braid, and four feet of my boxed braid. Pretty! Then I restrung the bobbins, and started a purple, pink, mint green, and white, boxed braid. I’ve gotten up to six feet of that so far, and the bobbins aren’t even 1/3 empty, so it’s going to be a good loooooong swack of braid! Which is good, because I have lots of ideas!!! I also need to start a notebook to keep notes of what I did, with which colors, and then add a sample of the braid to it, just so I’ll be able to do it again if anyone takes a liking to a certain braid.

Now, I should get off of here, because as soon as the rest of the paperwork is filed, I need to vacuum everything, and then get to taking pictures for my shop. I have soap sacks, Amish puzzle balls, and amulet bags to add this week. Lord help me with the description pages!!!

TTYL 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

