Cassie’s First Big Blanket

A few weeks ago Cassie was digging though my yarn and asked me how much it would take to make a blanket. I told her that that depends on the blanket and how shes going to make it. She said she was thinking about doing crocheted squares, like the ones people send me to put into baby blankets. So we talked about how many square she would need to cover her twin size bed, and how if you put an edging on it you can up size it a little, so she decided to do 24 big-ish squares instead of loads of seven inch ones. She chose her colors (blues of course), and then when she got the first big boodles of squares done I knew she was dead serious about doing this, and had her lay it all out to make sure we had the right amounts of the right colors. And here’s what it looked like at that point! Now she has the rest of the dark blue squares finished, and she decided she wanted to do some designs on the squares. (yes, I groaned because I just don’t want no horrible melt downs. BUT…)

CassiesprojectP1010004

Here’s what she’s done so far!  Team Fortress 2 logos mostly for Medic because that’s the class she loves to play. So we are both very happy campers so far. She’s done most of the work and I’ve been helping a little with weaving in ends. We all know how much we all hate those dreaded ends. Not me so terribly much. I guess I just love tedious work. 😛

CassieTF2blanketP4180064

So in the next week or so I hope to have her well on the way to stitching this thing together, and yes, we will get more pictures then. I’m pretty sure shes going to put some kind of a border on it also. I just have to say how mighty impressed I am. I don’t think I even attempted my first full size afghan until I was around 25 years old, and it was all one piece, not some put together squares type thing.  I don’t think I tried one of those until I was around 35 or so! The girl is miles ahead of me!!! 🙂

TTYL 🙂

2 Responses to “Cassie’s First Big Blanket”

  1. cjc22 Says:

    Wow!! Your girls are doing great work. Isn’t it fun to watch our kids do something new and creative? Of course look at who their mom is – a super, good teacher. Can’t wait to see the finished products.


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for Deployed U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Heroes, First Responders & Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

