Youngest Daughters Craftiness

So a few weeks ago I was watching a Youtuber called Dirt Patch Heaven and she was showing how her young daughters were doing stitch work, and pot holder loom squares to sell to pay for their ponys feed and upkeep. Very industrious young children. 🙂 So, as I’m watching my youngest dd comes up behind me and asks what they’re doing, and mentioned that she had one of those sewing hoops also. And of course she ran right to her desk and got it out. So we went through the closets and got out some fabric, and I cut her up some squares to stitch on with scrappy yarns out of my pretzel buckets.

Here are her first efforts.  First she wanted to do exactly as the Dirt Patch children were doing. Stitch around the edging, and then make a heart with her initial in the middle.

veryfirstP4150047

Then it was, “Could you draw me something mom? Noah (their new friend) likes penguins. Can you make a penguin?” So I began looking through coloring books for inspiration, and then did what I thought was a poor job of making two little penguins standing on ice, with a sunshine.  Turned out gorgeous when the stitching was done!!!

penguinsP4150050

Then it was, “how about a turtle, mom? Can you make a turtle?”

turtleP4150049

Then we just went groovy. Everyone looooves this one, so shes made three of them so far in all different colors. There’s this one, and then one with blue and purple spirals, and then one with green and blue spirals.

heartspiralP4150048

Then she wanted to do “a bird like Buzzy”, our cockatiel.  I found a dove in a coloring book and did the best I could, and then she added the yellow head and red cheeks. Turned out pretty good!

birdP4150053

And then she wanted to do flowers, but didn’t get it finished in time for picture taking. But that’s ok, because she’s already finished this one, the other two spiral hearts, and another flower one with bigger flowers and leaves, and now we have moved on to making pictures on black fabric with white crayon, and shes using neon yarns so they show up under black light! So plenty more pictures soon.

flowersP4150046

So, this stitching thing has really caught on around here! I can see us buying a few more hoops of different sizes in June or so, and especially some better needles, because the ones we are threading are just Not made to thread yarn through. But we’re dealing with what we’ve got, and if I keep at least one extra one loaded and ready to stitch with it doesn’t get too tedious. Now I feel like I need to work an iron into the budget too! When we were in FL I couldn’t find mine. Dh had gotten one when we purchased the sewing machine also, but we couldn’t find that either. Then when I was packing the house up for the move here, I found both of them!!! And now we’re here I can’t find either of them again. :sigh: They must be in the box with my electric hand mixer, because I haven’t found that yet either. :-/

So that’s what little Emily is working on at the moment. Oh so very crafty! Now shes starting to stitch better than even me!!! Next up… Cassies Big project!!!

TTYL 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for Deployed U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Heroes, First Responders & Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

