Bicycling

So far we have been out biking for the past four days this week! Tuesday we just rode around the block a few times. Ran into some old neighbors that moved back here over the winter, and their kiddo’s. My kiddo’s are now grinning ear to ear, because there are a passel of new neighborhood kiddo’s in the area for them to ride around with. So we’re setting boundaries of which streets they can ride on. Not the main road without us, and stay at least one block in from the railroad tracks without us too! Some of these neighborhood kids are like 6-8 years old and their parents let them stay out all afternoon, and cross the main road to go to the park by themselves. Trucks come through there sometimes at 50 MPH ignoring the mile or so stretch that’s marked 35 MPH for our town limits.  I guess they grew up just following their siblings around and they’re used to it, but maaaannn, there’s no way I’d let my crew just loose on the streets like that.

So then on Wednesday we climbed one of the bigger hills in town.  It’s a dead end road but the workout going up that incline is great! So far I can only peddle about half way up and then I walk the other half. Found that that works out two different muscle groups in my legs anyway so I’m ok with it!  Then the ride back down is fast and wonderful!!! So we did that again on Thursday and we’re pretty much going to do it every day that we can! I’m planning on picking up a pretty rock every time we make it up that hill as a family and adding it to a collection along the sidewalk here at home. Hopefully by the end of summer I’ll have a nice little garden area of golfball-ish size rocks from all around town. 🙂

So all totaled for the week we’ve already put in over 20 miles of biking as a family. The kiddo’s have probably put in more than that because they zip around here there and everywhere! I’m taking the camera around getting pretty shots of all the pasture land around here and the beautiful mountains off in the distance on the clear days! And I neeeeeeed to get a basket for my bike also. I’m not one for carrying a backpack and I need to take things with me like sunglasses, water, a lock, maybe band aids and stuff for when people fall off (hasn’t happened yet, but with my crew it’ll happen eventually :-P) and I’d like to carry my knife and compass and other small items.

Oh, and yesterday we rode down to the river also! Very pretty down there. I think we might have to take a lunch/snack with us down there and just enjoy the breeze and critter watch! For such a little town there sure are a lot of sights to see around here.

TTYL 🙂

2 Responses to “Bicycling”

  1. cjc22 Says:

    Sounds like you folks are having a wonderful time in your area. I remember riding everywhere with my boys and really getting to know the area well doing that, We have a new man-made trail from our town to the next one south and it is for walking, running, roller skating, scooters, boards and bikes. NO motorized vehicles of any kind allowed. I don’t ride a bike any more but I’ve walked a bit of it. It’s away from other vehicles and fairly quiet and lots of fun. Can’t wait to see some pictures of what you have seen.

  2. lifeonthewink Says:

    trying to get caught up with you!!! i really miss xanga 😦


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for Deployed U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Heroes, First Responders & Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

