Back at it!

Just when you feel like you’re going along good, bam! Life throws you a curve. Yeah, we’ve all been battling the flu bug here for the past week or two. Started out with 15 yo ds. Coughing and fever. Then it slowly rolled to the other children.  Thing is everyone had a slightly different flu. Some of the kiddo’s got the cough and fever, some had vomiting, some had the runs to the bathroom. Some could stomach some foods, but didn’t want others. We’ve done Ginger ale, and Peppermint teas for the upset stomachs. Light foods like mashed potatoes, rice, bananas, and crackers for them too.  For the others that could keep food down we were doing chicken soup with loads of fresh vegis. Celery sticks were a hit with just about everyone also. Jello, apple sauce, all different manners of hot drinks from teas, to hot cider, to just hot water with honey and lemon! I tell ya, I’ve kept the ball rolling! Dh was the great meds dispenser as far as Tylenol and cough syrup went, and I doled out the Pepto and things to keep tummies feeling ok.

For the past three days I have melted into a pile of buggers and fever myself. But I am now coming out of it! Yesterday I felt ok, but every little thing I tried to do wiped me out! Today I am taking it slow and trying to reclaim the laundry pile, and do a couple of loads of dishes. I’m learning my limits, and taking it easy though. Drives me nuts not going full steam ahead like usual.

In stuff around the house news… we have plumbing problems again. Not to get into it too much on here, but at least we have a friend coming to help us check things out this Thursday. He’s not a plumber, but he’s a carpenter, so at least he can tell us the best way to take up some of the floor to get to the plumbing, and then help us put it back down properly! We also need work hanging a door to the laundry room, and maybe redoing the dining room floor. It’s gonna be a busy Spring for sure. Ugghhh! Is it always like this in the north for Spring? Seems like Winter ruins stuff, and then you spend the first few months of thaw repairing it all! Too much stuff for this southern gal! Guess I’d better get used to it! 😛

In knitting news…. since I’ve been sick and don’t want to work on baby hats, and blankets, and stuff for hospitals, I’ve just been doing a little spinning and weaving on my Inkle loom to keep myself occupied. I did knit a couple little toys for the kitty cats too. They have this little two foot long thing that Emily (11 yo dd) knit on the eight peg loom, and it looks like a flat fat knitted snake. Boy oh boy do the cats love stalking and pouncing that!!! So I made a few more.  I think I might make myself a couple of dishcloths today too.  Possibly tomorrow I am going to finish off a few of the bag bags (plastic bag holders) for the shop. I have one finished in purple with a blue variegated yarn for the middle, and then another one in like a teal green and eggshell color that needs an I-cord, and then I’ve started another in red, white, and blue yarn.

And that’s about all from here. Back to getting housework done in little fifteen minute bits of time, then resting for a half hour! Sickness sucks!

TTYL 🙂

2 Responses to “Back at it!”

  1. Bridget Says:

    Hope you all feel better soon. It isn’t good when everyone goes down with something one by one. It seems to last for ages!

    • spinnermom Says:

      Yep, I’m just glad I got it last. Just as everyone was getting over it I could take some time and rest and get myself better. Last time we went through this I remember trying to make soup and crying because I was so sick also. LOL That seems like forever ago!


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for Deployed U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Heroes, First Responders & Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

