My Husband Makes Me Shop Better

So normally nowadays dh doesn’t come food shopping with us.  I’ve grumbled that when everyone goes shopping we just spend waay waaaaay too much money. I go and take oldest dd with me, and we have a list, and we Follow the list!!!!  If everyone goes it’s a big ol oooooh and aaaaahh festival, and crap just starts getting stuffed in the cart, and then when it gets full and we haven’t even gotten half of whats on the list, and I suggest I go get another cart, and dh groans, “can we just get out of here”, well, I just hate those trips.

Last week was one of those kind of trips, but I talked dh into taking his own basket, and half of the kiddo’s go off with him. They like to wander and look at things. And then I took another cart and just hit the food aisles and followed the list. So anyway, a few weeks back I found a Youtube where they said there is wood pulp/wood cellulose in shredded cheese, and I showed it to dh and we started talking with the kiddo’s about how back in the day if you wanted shredded cheese, you got a block of cheese and took it home, and shredded it yourself.  That led to, “how long have you been able to buy it pre-bagged?” oooh, about as long as you’ve been able to buy pre-bagged salads.  “whhhaaaaat? You used to have to make your salads too???” Yeah, the shocking things we had to do! Meh.

So dh caught up with us shopping right around the time we were at the cheese section, and I toss a bag of the pre shredded stuff in my cart, and he says, “I thought you weren’t gonna get that anymore?” I told him, no I just thought it was interesting, but I didn’t say I wasn’t gonna get it. 😛 So I put it back, and we look over the cheeses, and really a block of cheese is actually cheaper than the pre-shredded stuff, and I do have a cheese grater at home.  I usually use it for hard boiled eggs when making egg salad sandwiches, I don’t think I’ve ever used it for cheese. 😛

And we get home and we start slicing the cheeses, and then shredding the cheeses, and holy waaaahhhhh!!! OMG this is some Yummy cheese!!!! It has been a very very very long time since I have truly tasted cheese it seems.  So yeah, sometimes having dh go shopping isn’t so very bad.  But we did go $55 over budget that shopping trip, and I’ve had to waffle the budget back in to place these last couple of trips.  But our pizzas have never tasted better, so I reckon it’s worth it!

TTYL 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

