Business and Busy

So the stories I’ve heard are true! The Etsy stores start hoppin around this time of the year! The orders started flying fast and furiously when the weather turned cold! I’ve only had time to weave three of the three foot triangles before all that started happening.  So everything was set aside so I could whip up more hats for the store, and more items for people that all of a sudden neeeeeeeeded warm items! On top of getting shop things mailed out, I’ve had orders for special mittens, and hats, and flowers, and I even got a special order for some more CO hats, but I have several weeks to work on them yet! Next year I think I’m just going to concentrate on making a mega boodle of things for the shop, and  starting Nov 1st til Jan 15th No Special Orders! I need to concentrate better on just getting what I have, mailed out, and still have some free time for all the things we have to do around here for the holidays. But for this year I’ll keep squeezing things in.  I think part of me finds the sudden rush of business odd, because I started thinking about winter things months ago. I guess that just comes with making sure we have enough food, and knitting our warm stuff early, so we have it ready. Seems like loads of people are like, oh it’s cold this week, better run and buy something. I can’t think like that!

So other things that have been going on here… we took a little field trip. A friend of ours bought a historical place up north of here called Hammer House. It was built in the 1800’s by a guy who ran a quarry, and he built the house out of all the best stone he could dig out of the quarry. Our friends are renovating the house, and it is looking beautiful! I loved the kitchen especially, and they had a beautiful walking wheel (spinning wheel) in the parlor. The family used to own a sheep herd also, and there are stories about how they were kind of outcast, because the other ranchers had cattle, and the sheep used up sooo much grazing land! Very interesting stuff, and the kiddo’s had so many questions. They especially loved the stories about the window pane glass, and how it was made back then, and that’s why there were imperfections and waviness to it. I looove old glass!!! 🙂

Other than that, we’ve been dealing with the cold weather. Five days of below freezing temps both day and night here!!! We went on a mad spree of taping up the windows, and adding plastic covering to most of the bigger windows to hold in the heat. We cover all the vents to the old furnace with plastic too, because drafts come down the old chimney and blow right through the pipes. And all of our water pipes survived the five days, so I don’t think we’ll have any problems this year at all with anything freezing (:knocks on wood:) if we survived that! Altogether we had about a foot of snow already, but never more than four or five inches actually not melted on the ground at any given time. Now it’s just a wet muddy mess out there. Yuck!

For school, for the month of November we kinda started our own version of NaNoWriMo.  I’ve been doing some writing, all in .txt files. I have three different stories going right now. I don’t think I’ll make any one novel, but three big short stories combined adds up to almost a novel. Yes?  Maybe not. So then I gave the kiddo’s spiral notebooks, and I’m giving them writing prompts every day, and having them practice their hand writing and storytelling, and they are ~loving~ it!!! I am actually surprised how well they are all doing at it, and they are enjoying it!!!

So yeah, a kinda long update, and that isn’t even half of what’s going on around here, but it’s the basics! But I hope to get back to blogging soon. I have a bazillion pictures to show! Might take me a week of photo blogs just to get caught up with all that. 😛 AND to tell you just how busy it’s all been… we still haven’t carved the pumpkin we got for Halloween! Is that crazy, or what? LOL It’s a beautiful big pumpkin though, and with the cold weather it’s just holding up lovely! I think in FL it would have been mush by now. We’ll at least get the seeds out of it sometime this week, and get them toasted up. It shouldn’t be weird having a pumpkin on the Thanksgiving table, right? 😀  Anyway, off and away!!!

TTYL 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

