When The Waiting Pays Off… in a BIG way!

Soooo, back in early September I went on the Yaaaaaarn Crawl!!! I went into Table Rock Llama and even though dh says, “$200 limit for the whole yarn crawl” I think in the back of my mind, oh surely he jests, and I pick out like $35 worth of stuff, and then ogle a 3 foot tri loom on the wall marked down to $75 and swoon a little, and then there’s the 5 foot tri loom marked down to $125, and I’m like, if I put back everything, and just get these two… that’s $200 plus tax… tax shouldn’t count for the actual purchase, riiiiiight? Ohhh, but he’ll kill me!!! Kiiiiilllll me!  So, I decide to just get my little bit of stuff, and just wait a while. Two days later I told him about the tri looms, and he was like, “you should have got it!!!’ And I was like, “but it’s $200!!!!”, and he was like, “how much would it be without the discounted price if you were to just buy them brand new somewhere and had them shipped here?”, and I was like, “probably around $450-$500”

So then a plan was set. And we talked about it, and I put myself on a yarn diet (which I kinda broke, but really not, because technically I DID go more than 35ish days without buying yarn, BUT the deal I made with myself was for the month of October, but the yarn was under $5 a pound and that’s like 60% off… and see how I rationalize things? :-D) Soooooooo, anywho… today is technically November, and it’s payday, and I have saved over $45 in money in the past 6 weeks using the Savings Catcher thingie, AND I had quite a few Etsy sales, and now is the time!!! If the  tri looms are still there, I want to go get them!!!

We ~almost~ made the trip north last weekend to go get them, but then Cassie was having a bad week, and I ended up with Aunt Flo from Hades again, and how rude would it have been me walking in there looking like someone just shot me (ok ok, tmi).  But I also decided to wait, because I knew that today was Table Rock Llamas 10th anniversary, and they were going to have door prizes, and discounts on lots and lots of things!!! And who doesn’t like a nice discount on yarny/fibery goodness!!!

So I walk into the shop, and go all the way back to the workshop area, where the looms are still there, still hanging. Swoon!!! Oh my goodness, And the 5 foot one has a tag on it for $155 now, but I don’t care, I would like both! If it’s over $200 by a bit I don’t care, I will make it up somehow!!! So, I go and ask the shop owner if she could get them down for me, I’d like to purchase them. And she’s like, “oh, no no! These are on auction now!” And I think I gasped a little! I was like, “but, but, but, I’ll pay full price! Don’t auction them! Who’s winning? How Much? Who do I gotta buy off? /cry” And she takes me over to the table, and points out the sheets of paper, and she’s like, “yep, the auction ends in a half hour, and it looks like we’ve only got one bid on one of the looms! You could out bid her, shes not here now. Guess how much the bids were for? Staring bid on the 3 ft loom $55 (no bids)! Starting bid on the 5ft loom $55 (with only one bid on the sheet for the $55)!!! Can you feel me melting through the floor, as I got them both for $115? OMG! And then I felt a wee little bit bad, because I outbid the other lady, but there was no one else there wanting any of the six items they had up for auction. And OMG, I can really USE these items. And as a matter of fact, they are both in use right now!!! Yes, yes, pictures really really soon! I promise.

And then on top of that I got more fibery content. Dh said I could spend $200 and I wasn’t not gonna do it this time! They had some pretty colors in, so I got some beautiful Merino Top in blues and purple tones, and then some wonderful Merino silk blend that is gorgeously soft!!!! AND Emily spotted some rainbow dyed Corriedale roving, so I went ahead and got her six ounces of that! She bought her own spindle when we were there for the yarn crawl, and she has been using it quite a bit since then, so having bright fun colors to spin is the next best thing! So when she got home she started spinning it up, and can we say Willy Wonka loveliness!!!! I might might might just make dh go out that way next time we’re up in the Springs just to go get some more of that!!!! Because after all was said and done I spent only $165 out of the $200. We did stop and get pizza and a Philly cheese steak sub for dinner tonight and with gas money I reckon I could tally up that that’s the $200 total (see I can rationalize in the whooooole other direction!)

If we do go again though I’d maybe like to see if they still have the easel stand they were trying to auction off with the big tri loom.  I figured I’d give it a try hanging off the wall first. But a few more bucks for an easel might be worth it too. We’d get more use out of it then just my looms being on it! There would be charcoal sketching, and zentangle, and watercolor paintings galore that could be done with it! So, we’ll see. But yeah, it’s been a pretty incredible day! /squeeeeeeeee  And yeah, this totally counts towards my birthday and Christmas presents also.  I mean really…. I don’t think I could be much happier this year at all the fibery goodness I’ve obtained. I can’t think of another thing that I could possibly want. Maybe boots?  But really, I have no need to go outdoors.  All the good stuff is in the house. LOL

TTYL 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

