Fall Kitchen Stuff

So since we are all pulling extra hours around here we have been super drained on energy.  So dh and I were talking it over last week, and what’s the best way to feel better?  Well, to start eating better of course!!! So when we went to the store, more than half of our cart was loaded with fresh vegi’s and fruits, and a lot less of the processed crap foods!!! I got four stacks of bananas, and what we don’t eat up in the next two or three days is going into the freezer for smoothies in the morning, and maybe a loaf or two of banana bread!  We also got three bunches of kale, and yesterday I dug the dehydrator out of the bottom shelf, and as bonkers as my stripped down kitchen is, I stacked it on top of the microwave (yes, dh had to have a microwave. I still refuse to use it, but he heats things up in it, and the kiddo’s make those awful bags of popcorn in it. Yuck) Today we had a wonderful bucket of crunchy kale chips for, oooh an hour or three. They got munched up pretty quick! Looks like I’m going to have to get two or three batches of kale every time we shop now for the next few months.

I also spiralized a couple of potatoes and added them to the dehydrator to fill up that one last tray.  They turned out pretty good too. More potato-y than  a potato chip and no grease but I seasoned them so everyone is loving munching on a handful of them at a time. Austin told me it was kind of like a crunchy potato pretzel!

And I am chopping up loads of carrots, celery, onions, and potatoes for popping in the pressure cooker! Sometimes I’ll make it with chicken flavor, other times with beef flavor. Something nice and tasty and easy to digest with loads of vitamins! Good to keep everyone fueled up and going! And lately with six mostly full grown people a gallon and a half of soup in the pressure cooker leaves hardly any leftovers! Maybe one or two bowls of the soup and if I add more water more seasonings and some noodles to it and serve with a side of bread or biscuits I can get a second quick meal out of it! It’s going to be weird when the kiddo’s all grow up and leave home and dh and me are going to have to learn to scale back our cooking. LOL

Also, now that we have the new oven, I am going to attempt to start making fresh loaves of bread again! It’ll be nice to have warm bread on a cold day! And yeah, I’m just happier overall, because I haven’t really been cooking like this for over a year now, because, well, my kitchen sucks! But it’s slowly getting better. If I had my way I’d rip it all out and start fresh with some used counter tops or whatever I could scavenge off Craigslist. But dh has this thing about getting things used and me using power tools. Pssshhh! I wish we could just make a deal of, don’t ask, don’t tell, where I could just go get things, and do it my way. 😛 But that’s not gonna happen. So I’m just shifting things around, and that’s as good as it gets.

Oooh, and on a crafty front… Lookit what I found yesterday while surfing the Facebook fiber groups! Pendleton Woolen Mill.  They sell their scraps, and just look at all the cool things people make with them!!!!  I’m thinking of getting ten pounds of the Wooly Worms and two or three pounds of the Blanket Headers!  Imagine all of that warm woolen goodness to make into useful items!!!!  Makes my crafty heart soar!!!!

Now I am off of here to go do mundane ol housework! I printed the kiddo’s up some wonderful chore charts and it’s been helping out a whole lot around here but there is still so much picking up and around the edges stuff to get done! Never ending story! 😛

TTYL 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for Deployed U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Heroes, First Responders & Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

