Spinzilla the Yarn!

Here we gooooo! The pictures of Spinzilla!

Monday the 6th begins with a message to the family, and I must say, they did much better than average making sure the kitchen table was cleared after meals, and getting their own laundry washed when needed, and just the overall neatness of the house was impressive!

MOTDOct6thPA140078

We start with Three Feet of Sheep Tropical. I was nervous because I wanted to keep all the colors in line, and sometimes when I’ve spun other colors before they all go into this crazy blending melding togetherness, and sometimes it just looks muddy. So I carefully made sure it wasn’t gonna happen here!!! It’s called Three Feet of Sheep, because they package it into a three foot long baggie. Here’s the first half…

ThreeFtofSheep1PA070003

and down to the second half…

ThreeFtofSheep2PA070005

There on the floor is the ever present bag of white Coopsworth fiber that I spun and plied all of the Tropical with. I still have over three pounds of this stuff.  I had grand thoughts of being able to spin a whooooole lot more than I did. LOL

CoopsworthPA100056

And here we go with the first bobbin full of yellows, and oranges, and reds…

firstbobbinof3ftPA070006

firstbobbinof3ft2PA070009

Then on to the second bobbin full with reds, and blacks! Can’t find my pictures of that bobbin, but it reminded me of Alice in Wonderland, and the Queen of Hearts and all of her cards when I was working with it.  Then on to the third bobbin full where oldest dd swooned. Bluuuuuuues.

3ftbobbin2PA080039

which turned to lighter blues….

3ftthirdbobbinPA100055

to greens…

3ftthirdbobbinPA100061

to really greens and then yellows again…

3ftfourthbobbinPA120067

and for every two bobbins of colorful, I had to spin up two bobbins of the white Coopsworth, and then ply them off. Thank goodness a couple of months ago I remembered to get a few more bobbins, so I had a total of eight to work with, but most of the time I only needed six while doing this.

Now the trick is when you ply it, and then skein it off onto the niddy noddy, is remembering which end of the yarn is the beginning, and which end connects to which end.  So as they’re coming off the wheel I’m labeling them with how many yards, and what order to knit them in, to stay consistent with the colors from the 3ft bag up there.

3ftplyingfirstbobbinPA080045

Isn’t it pretty??? Like that Fruit Stripes gum almost. LOL

3ftplying2nedbobbinPA080052

And here’s the whole shebang that was spun! What’s on the niddy noddy could only be counted for what I plied off of bobbins, but had spun over the summer. Next year I will remember to clear my bobbins first thing!!! Then there was the grey brown looking mystery fiber from stash, that spun up so soft and lovely. I worked on that to break up the monotony of spinning soooo much white that I plied the 3 Ft of Sheep with.

Yardage2307Spinzilla2014PA140072

And I am now knitting with that yellow orange yarn skein, and this will probably make thee biggest shawl ever! There’s a total of 952.5 yards of the colorful yarn! I’m using it to make this Boneyard Shawl (that calls for around 600 yards of yarn). Cassie saw me knitting on the beginnings of the shawl last night, and instantly wanted one! I showed her the Ravelry page where you can look at pictures of all the shawls everyone has made from this pattern (5000+ of just this pattern). She looooves this one… http://www.ravelry.com/projects/HayleyWarren/boneyard-shawl  So guess what we are working on next? Yep, I get to start it, and then I leave it laying around, and she’ll pick it up and work on it here and there herself.  I love that I can do that! 😀

Next up… crazy cat pictures, or raaaaaainbows, and chili peppers bein fired up????

TTYL 🙂

2 Responses to “Spinzilla the Yarn!”

    • spinnermom Says:

      Thank you! I said to dh that when I get the shawl finished I’m going to list it on the shop for three months for $700 and see if anyone will really buy it! 😀 $40 in materials, and just over a hundred work hours put into it, and I’d still be making right around minimum wage charging that price. 😛


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

