Birthday Blues

Ya ever have one of those weeks?  So early last week Austin comes up to me and says, “Mom is tomorrow October?”  and I’m like, “yeah, why?” and he’s like, “Yaaaayyy! It’s almost my Birthday!!!!!” And I’m like, HOLY CRAP!!!! Oh no! No no no no no!!!! See Austin was a preemie and there’s still a part of me that thinks his birthday is still waaaaay towards Thanksgiving, and every couple of years that just creeps right up on me! Blah!  SO, I started adding things to the shopping list! Cake stuff, frosting, candles, a couple of toys, balloons. Yaaaaayy! It’s not too late and I can pull this off and he’s getting a gift card towards a game he’s been wanting for a while too, so that’s gonna take, birthday money, and Christmas cash, and allowance, to get that saved up for!

So then everything’s going right along, but then a couple of days ago I notice the toaster oven isn’t heating up as well as it should. And then the day after that making french fries, it’s really not going well. So phhhhhtttt, I end up toasting and turning ready cook things like fries, and chicken nuggets. But you can’t toast…. a cake.  Bummer. So yeah, life is gonna suck til the weekend, when we can go shopping and get a new oven, and actually be able to bake a birthday cake.  And no, I am not making a special run to town (45 minute round trip) to buy a $20 store boughten cake! And yeah, he’s ok with that, because last time we had a store cake they all moaned and groaned because my cake is better!  And to make up for it all, he’s getting an Asian Cashew salad next time we go to Wendy’s (I have a coupon. shhhh.) Yeah, my kiddo’s are…. weird.

In Spinzilla news… I got one whole bobbin spun up yesterday! I know, I know. Sucky!  BUT I had to crop, and .jpg, and list about two dozen Items on my Etsy.  By 11 pm my brain was fried trying to think up little blurbs about everything, and going to other shops and getting all the best tag words.  So, today I am going to work really hard at getting at least two bobbins full, and then hopefully starting a fourth, so tomorrow I will be plying my first two skeins off. I need to look up the rules on how many yards you get to count as spun for plying I reckon. I’m pretty sure last year the plied yarn didn’t count as yardage, and that was kinda sucky. Anyway, off and spinning!

TTYL 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

