Dreaming!

So the other night I had a super cool, awesome dream, full of lots of ideas that I want to try. Ok so, this house came with a rather interesting detached garage.  Looks like the walls were built with 2×4 frame and then the rest of the walls are a mud brick like substance, and then the roof is just a regular old roof, but it’s very oooold. The outside of this garage was stuccoed to match the rest of the house. It’s nice, because when the sun shines on the stucco all day, and it keeps the house nice and warm most of the night! Pretty sure the garage having mud brick walls with stucco on the outside works the same way. We don’t park our car in it though, because we don’t trust the roof. That’s where my dream comes in.

So in my dream, I get to use a skill saw, and we were cutting the roof off the garage bit by bit and dropping it into the dumpster in like two foot sections. I don’t really understand how this was working out, because we were standing on the roof while we were cutting away at it. But it worked in my dream. Then, when the roof was gone we started lowering the walls, and taking the mud bricks out to the back yard to make raised beds out of them. It was ~~~gorgeous~~~!!!!  I had fruit trees on the bonus property along the side of the house, and then the whole back along the fence had sunflowers and berry bushes, and then all up to the porch was the raised beds built out of rocks and the mud bricks.

Then comes the amazing part (as if all that wasn’t amazing enough), once the mud walls were taken out to about waist high, we re-framed up the 2×4’s, and put a hoop house/green house over the top of it all, and my garage became a beautiful beautiful space for plants, and all our gardening needs throughout the Winter and Spring!!!!

I woke up incredibly happy about it all. It is just soooo doable with a little work, and year round effort!!! The people here are still all like, “you won’t never get nothin to grow here”, BUT the dude down the street got his tomatoes and squash to grow! The farmers on the other side of the river are growing corn, squash, peppers, tomatoes, and pumpkins for Halloween! I feel like proving them all wrong, and getting some apple and pear trees in the Spring, and then getting loads of berries, and getting those raised beds made! Gonna need a boat load of drip irrigation, and maybe even some timers so I’ve only gotta check up on things once or twice a day… but I can see this working! And it makes me smile every time we pull into our driveway and I see that old garage! 🙂

2012-10-04garage 2012-10-04sideofgarage

2 Responses to “Dreaming!”

  1. Bridget Says:

    Can’t wait to see pics of all that homegrown when you prove them wrong x

  2. spinnermom Says:

    Yep, I was telling my husband I want to get going on it better next year. This year we started too early, and then everything went kaput! Next year I am following what the old guy down the road (that has lived in this climate all his life) to a T! Except he only did three tomato plants, and three squash plants, and a couple of different pepper plants! It’s just him and his wife. I’m planting for a family of six, so my yard will be overabundant with green goodies!!! 😀


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for Deployed U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Heroes, First Responders & Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

