Spinzilla!!!

I am gearing up! I placed an awesome order with the Woolery! Couldn’t pass up the Spinzilla deal of two pounds of fiber for $39!!! (so I got two! LOL) I have never seen fiber that cheap, unless it’s like straight off the sheep, and not all nice and washed and carded!!! My plan is to spin as much of it up as I can the week of Spinzilla, and then I am going to wind the yarn into cakes, and get out the food coloring, and do this dying technique I saw on the Youtoobz where you plop the yarn cakes into the dye, and the outside picks up more of the color, and it gradually gets lighter towards the middle of the cake! Makes for super awesome shawl knitting with either the darkest part of the skein at the top of the shawl, and going lighter and lighter to the bottom… or the light part at the top, going darker and darker to the bottom!

This week is also Yarn Along the Rockies here in CO! I don’t think I’m going to try hitting 24 yarn shops this year though. I might hit two or three right around the Springs, and of course we’ve already hit Table Rock Llamas! I think they are my most favorite shop ever! Well, besides Spindles, Shuttles, and Skeins and Mew Mew’s!!! But those are much much further north.

So anyway, yesterday we needed to go up to the Springs for 15 yo dd’s medicine, so we zipped out to Table Rock Llamas first. I ended up with some lovely Merino yarn called Zara Plus the color # is 428 (it’s the multi colored green one).ย  I am weaving it up on my Hazel Rose looms and it is absolutely fabulous!!! I let dh know if we’re in that neck of the woods next week I wanna go in and clean them out of the last 15 or so skeins in all the different colors they had. I also got a few more bobbins for my Ashford Traveler wheel, getting ready for Spinzilla!!! I’ve been meaning to get some for a few years now, but just never thought of it at the time we were at any place fibery. Then I’d sit down to spin again, and I’d be like, “man, I need more bobbins!”

Other than that… just regular ol back to school stuff here. Starting to get up early in the morning again, so we can get our four hours of stuff done by lunch time. One kiddo in the last year of Elementary, and then everyone else in Middle and High School is rough!!! But we’re getting through it. I thought once I got my oldest through the high school years, I was all like, “yeah! I can DO THIS!!!” But with multiple kiddo’s working multiple levels… eeehhhhssss!ย  Six more short years, and I’ll be down to just one again though. That’ll be weird. ๐Ÿ˜›

Anyway, off to watch a few Youtubes before bed. I’ve been sucked into Dave Ramsey vids lately. We’ve done most of what he’s saying on our own, without even following any plan really. I guess it’s just the way I was brought up.ย  It’s just good to listen to those kick in the pants “be responsible, dammit!” kinda talks every once in a while. I’m astounded at people that make $150K a year, and they’re, “OMG we are in soooo much debt!!!”, and I’m like, holy crap!!! How??? But then, I’m not normal. :-/ ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s a crazy world out there, ain’t it?

TTYL ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for Deployed U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Heroes, First Responders & Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

