Back to the pretzel barrels

Yep, I’m making baby hats again, but not just any hats!  Hats for preemies! For a few minutes I went through a phase of, “man, I wonder if these would sell on my Etsy shop?” Then I went to Etsy and searched for preemie items, and Holy Smokes!!!!! The prices!!! People making two hats and two sets of booties, and charging $35!!!! And I just went into a mode of, these are parents of a baby that was born too small, and they just want something that fits their child, and those little items shouldn’t cost twice as much as ~one~ adult hat! Takes me back to the mom I ran into in a store when I was pregnant with one of my children, and she had just given birth to a little 3 pound boy, and the store had ~nothing~ that would even come close to fitting him, and she was in tears!!! Not just tears, but that ugly cry! So nope, I will not be selling my preemie things on the store. Parents of preemies have enough on their plate, and I am not going to gouge families like that!

So now I’ve made about a dozen baby hats over the past three days, I am in a mode of pulling out the pretzel buckets and making some stripes! I am always amazed how just a little bitty scrap of yarn can make something look extra special! Plus I’ve found a few of the bigger balls in my scrap buckets actually make a whole preemie hat!!! Amazing!

In other knitting news… Cassie grabbed a skein of bright hot pink yarn the other day, and in about an hour or two she whipped up this cute little 4 inch by 6 inch draw string bag with a heart on each side of it! First amazing thing, she did it without a pattern. Second amazing thing, it’s all one piece, and she had to do one heart right side up, and one heart upside down, and they both look wonderful!!!

Now I am going to get back to the Youtubes and the knitting. Oh, and Doge Coin has an official car in the Talladega Race next weekend! Wooohooo!  To the moon Doge, to the moon!!!

2 Responses to “Back to the pretzel barrels”

  1. Bridget Says:

    My nephew was born 10 wks early and everything prem was an extortionate price. Luckily I can knit!! Are there going to be pictures of your daughters bag? Clever girl x

    • spinnermom Says:

      Yep, I am saving up all the things I need to take pictures of in one box. Should have them up any day now. It’s just been so busy around here lately, I feel like everything is just flying, and then boom, it’s the end of the day, and I fall in bed and think of all the things I could still be getting done. LOL But yes, picture posts will be coming in the next two or three days for certain!


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

