The pipes! They go ssssshhhhh!

Yeah, that’s not a good sound. 15 yo dd heard it first. I had to move boxes around the living room, and sure enough under the house you can hear it. Problem is getting to it. So guess what our weekend was spent doing?  You got it! Cutting up floor boards!!! Luckily when you buy a house that was initially built in 1908 you get a house that is built with *amazing* floor boards and very hard wood, since it is so well aged! At least in the part we had to cut up. So we pull back the carpet (and thank the good Lord that we have yet to buy any living room furniture), and look at the old linoleum. And dh gets out the saws and drills and such, and many loud noises later we’ve cut through like four layers of flooring, and I am ooooohhing and aaahhing at how the house must have looked at each stage throughout the years! And everyone laughs at me as I stare down into my floor, and I whisper out loud, ‘root cellar! We should put in a trap door, and make this a root cellar!!!’ Naaaah, too many spiders down there! 😀

Two days of running outside and using the special key to turn the water off at the main, and then fix this pipe, and turn the water on, and turn the water off, and fix that, and run here, and run there. Yep, I do believe we finally have a master plan to fix most of the water in this house! Saying a quick thank you, that out of all the elements, I think I like a trickle of water better than fire, or wind, or earth disturbing our home. LOL

In other news… I slapped up a banner on my Etsy page. It’s kinda sucky because I cannot get PSP6 to work like I know it should!  I think I need a couple of lessons again to figure out all of the layers, and other buttons, and doohickeys. 😛 I used to be good at that stuff. Still have gotten nowhere with getting my business card complete. I keep trying an hour or so every other day though, and it usually ends in complete frustration. I am determined to make something unique though. Oh, and I saw a few bulletin boards while we were out and about too, so I know just where I am going to slap up my first few cards!!! Woot!

And sometime today we will be putting our first seeds in the dirt! One tray will hold Spinach, Lettuce, and Kale.  The second tray will hold Chives, Basil, Dill, and Thyme. And the third tray will have Lavender, Chamomile,  and Parsley! 15 yo dd is doing a medium size plant pot of Mint also.  I miss my huuuuuge old back porch planter full of mint that we had in FL!  And then in a month or so hopefully everything can start transitioning outside, and then we will start tomatoes, and onions, and zucchini, and cucumbers!!!  And 11 yo ds wants his radishes and turnips. 😛 Here’s hoping we have a great year of growing!!! I wonder if the farmers market will miss us much. LOL

Well, I am off of here to knit some more, and then spend the afternoon weaving! I’ve got ~ideas~!!! Sound dangerous?  You betcha!!!!

TTYL 🙂

4 Responses to “The pipes! They go ssssshhhhh!”

  1. Bridget www Says:

    Your enthusiasm is so infectious! Glad you sorted out the water problem. Happy weaving

  2. annamatrix Says:

    My word…! We sprung a leak, but nothing like that!


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

