Oh Hiiiiii!

Haha! I am slacking again, aren’t I?  Actually, in all reality, I’m not.  I just haven’t had much time this month to sit here and write stuff out. Here’s hoping with the holidays over, and only three birthdays in January, I will find more time to sit and write things. Soooo, the December whirlwind?

Well, it’s mostly been about sickness. We went to a holiday party, and then after that we ate out a time or two while shopping, and kablam!!!! The sickness fell upon us all, with fevers, and barf, and diarrhea, and of course everybody hit it all at different stages, so two of us were barfy, while two or three of us were battling for the potty. Most days everyone had fevers for about a six day period, but towards the end that got better by a couple of us at a time. And of course being the mom I am the one who has to hold it all together, and make sure everyone gets this med, or that med, or Jello is made, or lets have soup!!! And I inch along like death warmed over, making, and doing, and cleaning. At the height of it all I remembered Vics Vapor Rub, and everyone got a super dose of that on their chest, and throat, and back, and the next day whooooohoooo! Near wellness after a night of heavy sweats! It worked so well we went and bought a vaporizer, and  have had that thing running about non stop since we’ve bought it! One thing you find out quickly in this dry mountain air… FL’s humidity ~was~ a good thing after all! Love love looooooove the vaporizer!!!!

In knitterly things… so for the past year I have been hemming and hawing at opening an Etsy store. I had a pile of things I wanted to picture and put up there, and then just before Christmas I heard of this need, and you know me. I went through my bins and gave it all away! Haha! So since we’ve been here in CO I’ve met a boodle of lovely people through the group that is helping my daughter, and in the different yarny shops, and places. ALL of them have been extremely supportive, and insistent that I should sell the stuff I make. Everywhere I go, ‘OMG, you should SELL those!!! You could ~sell~ that!’ and then someone asked if they could buy those hair pretty flowers I make. I suggested $2? They gave me five!!! FIVE!!!! Then on facebook one of the moms linked me some things called boot cuffs, and asked if I could make something like them. I whipped up two samples, and she liked them, and wanted like five of them!!!! I suggested a price, and have made her three so far, and she is buying them!!!! People LIKE my stuff!!!! So I am geeked, and now I have about six or seven items, and I am going to give it a big ol go this week and open my etsy store!!!! I have NO IDEA what I am doing, but I guess I am just going to slap some stuff up there, and see how it goes.  At the very very least this will make me a better picture taker. 😛 At the very best, maybe I can help play a bill or two every month around here. 😀  So I would love suggestions of what would YOU like to see me make?  What would you like to buy? Hats? Scarves? Dishcloths? Those plastic bag holders? Pot holders? Boot cuffs? Wristers? Mittens? Shawls? Blankets? Baby items? Hair pretties? The ideas are pretty much endless. I can knit, crochet, weave, and maybe even sew soon!!!! And colors…. I have no idea what other people like!!!! When the lady asked me to do boot cuffs she wanted whites and cream colors, and I was all ready do dive into brights and wild variegated!!!  Seems whites and cream colors are most favored even for things like baby items.

So here is what I would like to end up doing. If things don’t sell on my store, I am trying to think of a way to then raffle the things that sit! Some things like baby hat and bootie sets, if they don’t sell, they’re just going to be popped into a donation box to a hospital, but things like blankets, or shawls, if they don’t sell, I think I will announce it on my facebook page, and here, and give everyone a chance to send me a dollar and your name will be put in the drawing, and maybe I’ll make $10 or $20, but then if it’s not gonna sell anyway, at least someone will get a really cool something or other for a buck!!!

And now I am off of here to do housework stuff. Between the sickness, and the holiday mess, things around here have just gone pfffhhh! So I have got to dig out one room at a time. Bit by bit, with lots of resting in between. We’re not totally well yet, but at least the fevers and yuck are gone, and we’re down to just sniffles and coughs. And I am actually getting my smell and taste for things back. Don’t know if that’s gonna be a good thing by the looks of this place. LOL

TTYL 🙂

6 Responses to “Oh Hiiiiii!”

  1. empress27 Says:

    It’s a great idea! Open an Etsy store, that’s awesome. I love browsing Etsy. Have a Happy New Year and I hope everyone is completely back to normal soon!

  2. journeyof7 Says:

    Well, that sounds like loads of fun. 😦 We’ve (& by we, I mean me & John) have had nasty colds, I might’ve had the flu – you know I wouldn’t get tested for it, & I’m pretty much back to feeling like death warmed over today. Definitely mostly sleeping…
    Good luck on the Etsy shop! Sounds cool!

  3. Bridget Says:

    Happy New Year to you and your family. I would have thought boot cuffs would be bright or darker colors! Cream and white would get dirty so quickly in this house! I’m assuming that boot cuffs are what you put in the top of wellies and fold them back over on the outside?

    • spinnermom Says:

      Yep that’s what they are! I guess people around here are using them for more dressier boots though for a layered look. So not much chance of getting them too dirty.

  4. annamatrix Says:

    Be sure to add the link to the Etsy store when you get it set up, please!

    And I’m glad to hear you’re all on the mend. We’re just getting the flu, ourselves, now…

    • spinnermom Says:

      Ugghh! The flu sucks!!!! I will link the shop high and low all over the place when I get things listed. The shop name is SpinnerMomMadeThat if you want to add it to a list of places or blog roll or anything. I think you can search it by my name also. Still feeling my way around over there, so not too sure.


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

