Rough couple of weeks

So around the 6th of November til the 15th was about the roughest. Back the few days before Halloween my sister in law finally figured out how to do Skype on her iPad, so we started Skyping to see my mother in law who has been in the hospital for a while. Halloween was her last birthday. 😦 I think we Skyped with them just about every day from the 6th to the 14th of Nov. because grandma (MIL) just could not get enough of actually seeing her grand babies ‘in person’!!!! It was sooo bittersweet! Then on the 15th we were having lunch and dh got the call that his mom had passed. I made him call in to work, and he took the weekend and the next Monday off. It was good for him to do that, but I soo wish he could have had more time off.  This past Friday the 22nd was his moms memorial service. Another hard day. His mom was Catholic, so they did a nice church service, and then the family went to dinner. They are all in Hawaii so we kicked up Skype again for the dinner, and their 6 o’clock dinner was at 9 o’clock for us here.  It was sooo good to see so many grandparents, great grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, and friends that turned out!!! I was truly amazed!!!! It was just beautiful!

Now we are working our way into Thanksgiving!!! The past 17 years or so we’ve made dh’s moms beans, and his grandmas pan fried stuffing, and it’s just been amazing to have those recipes passed down, but this year making his moms beans is probably going to filled with tears, knowing we can’t just call her up and tell her how good they taste! Nom nom nom!!!  Christmas is probably going to be another hard day to get through. But that is weeks away still. I remember after my mom passed away how many times I went reaching for the phone, and then suddenly realizing, oh wait, shes not there anymore! I think that’s gonna be harder on dh then it was on me. 😦

One of dh’s brothers had to do all the cleaning out of the house last week, and he said he’s sent a box to dh of things he thought he might want. They donated a couple of truck loads of things to the typhoon relief.  I thought that was just a great idea!!!! Sooo many people in need, and there is my MIL house full of stuff that can be used!!!! And then there was just dumpsters full of other stuff that needed to be taken away also. Such a hard job sorting through all those things.

As for the rest of the week I hope everyone has a wonderful Thanksgiving. Hug and love on the people around you! They are what matters the most!!!! Hopefully I will get back to blogging a bit more regularly as the holidays get closer. I have sooooo many pictures of knitting, spinning, and weaving to share! And there has been much snow here!!!! I am not prepared for months, and months, and months, of this cold wet stuff! I’ve seen snow twice in the past 40ish years before we moved here! And one of those times it was because I actually left the state of FL! Now we have had snow for the past four days straight! I looked outside today, and most everything is melted, and the sun is shining, and if it weren’t 20-something degrees out…. I would almost feel normal. LOL Must knit more slippers!!!

TTYL 🙂

2 Responses to “Rough couple of weeks”

  1. tonyroberts64 Says:

    My prayers are with you as you go through this difficult holiday season. God bless you all.

  2. craftgnome Says:

    Sorry to hear about your MIL passing. Blessings all around for you all.


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for Deployed U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Heroes, First Responders & Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

