Ojo de Dios and Mandalas

So, I got a little sidetracked the past few weeks from knitting, and spinning, and all the things I usually do with yarn, and found a few videos on Youtube on how to make these things. I am just beginning and as with anything, there is a learning curve.  So here are my few attempts at making Ojo do Dios, or an Eye of God!

This is my first one and I am pretty pleased with it. I feel like I should be doing more with the ends of the sticks though, but I guess that will just come with creativity once I get better at making these. I’ve seen people do tassels, and beads, and buttons, and clay. I don’t know what I want to do yet though.

Image

My second attempt.  Had to figure out how to do that dark purple on the outside edge myself. Found it later in another vid, and it appears I did it right!!! 😀

Image

One just for 11 yo ds in yellows and greens. The middle is a bit loose on this one, but that’s partly my fault, partly his. When you wiggle the sticks it loosens things, and first I saw it a little loose and tried to fix it, and then when he took it to hang he bumped it around a bit and made it looser. Oh well, we’re learning. And he still loves it, and that’s what matters, eh.

Image

And here is the one where I learned how to do those darts that come out. They are easy to do, but I misjudged the yarn usage there and didn’t have enough for the last dart. See if you can tell which one it is that isn’t the same in the next to last color. And then I did the same as the second one for the outer edge ~but~ I learned a new trick, wrapping the yarn to the end of the stick, and then back in.  I call it the Captains Wheel. Too much Pirates of the Caribbean around here, me thinks. LOL

Image

Besides that the kiddos have been coloring mandalas for a little while. Some of them get very very detailed, and it keeps them so quiet, I have to go check on them often. I’ve gone and got a compass and protractor to create my own Mandalas, but the kiddo’s couldn’t wait that long, so we went to a website to find some. Here is Jim’s Mandala page… http://mandala-jim.deviantart.com/  and a place where you can print many many many designs to color… http://www.iheartmandalas.com/  It reminds me of snowflakes in a way, because no one colors a mandala the same way twice. Now I just have to trim these up, and put them all in frames, for some nice colorful wall art!

Image

In other news… we popped on Skype with some of dh’s family in Hawaii for the first time ever, and they looked at him, and then I popped in the room and sat down to chat, and his step sister said, ‘Oh my god!  You’re hippies!!!!’ LMBO!!! Ya think? 😀 I think I love his family!

Ok time to check paperwork, and then some spinning time. This afternoon I am going to go sit for a while in the sunshine on the back porch with my knitting.  It got down in the 20’s here last night, and I don’t think it’s gonna get out of the 40’s here today. Blah! But I need some sun, so I’m going to try and sit and knit. It might become a putter around the yard to keep warm kinda day though. 🙂

TTYL 🙂

2 Responses to “Ojo de Dios and Mandalas”

  1. journeyof7 Says:

    I tried to get to the links & they both gave me error messages. 😦 Very cool stuffs!

    • spinnermom Says:

      Well I tried to fix the links but they don’t seem to want to work for me either. I even tried rearranging the urls so they just went to regular pages but still doesn’t want to work. I R no good at computerz. :-/


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

