Pumpkins and Knitting and Stuff

And here it is!!!!! My nice big luscious 2013 yarn crawl shawl!!!! I got this yarn at the very first shop we visited from their 50% off section. Just cannot break old habits, and always go to the sale stuff first. 😛 In a universe where I am more adventurous this would have maybe been a beautiful Noro Silk something or other. I will buy myself so good beautiful yarn someday. I will!!! But for now, this is partial wool and partial Ack, and I loooove it so much!  I did the http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/weavers-wool-mini-shawl pattern. And it stays on the shoulders beautifully, just like everyone says it does!!! I’ve made about a half dozen of these, but always for giveaway, never for myself. But this one is mine alllllll mine!  It’s colder here than in FL, and there will be no more of that, ‘oh, I’m only gonna use it for a couple days out of the year. I should just donate it!’ Nope, no more of that! 😀

Image

Here is a shot of us at the pumpkin field of our favorite farmer here in CO, Mauro Farms!!! First they pick out all the bestest pumpkins, and I think right now they are like $4.50 from the stand, and it was $3 if you go out in the field and pick them yourselves. So we went a walkin and pickin!!! We got two beautiful ones, and will commence carving them and toasting the seeds. Everyone just cannot wait for the seeds!!! LOL

Image

In house news… here’s what I decided to do to the kitchen floor for a little while! One thing I was looking forward to from this move was no more sand spurs/ stickers(?) whatever you want to call them, from wherever you are from. They are like a little pea with pointy sharp spurs on them, and they stick to your shoes, and you track them in the house, and they jab your feet horribly! FL had a boodle of them, but Pueblo has a thousand times more!!!! Well, the kitchen was carpeted (see the ugly carpet over there by the door?) and those suckers stuck to the floor off our shoes, and it was just not fun!!!! These little kinder mats are wonderful on the feet, they insulate the floor a little more, AND the sand spur thingies don’t stick to it! Oh, and the cats love it too! LOL And I kinda love that my kitchen reminds me of Tetris every time I walk into it!

Image

Here is the other thing I ~~~love~~~ in my kitchen!  There is this area over the sink, and it used to have a light that didn’t work, but I took that sucker out of there, and screwed in a dozen + cup hooks, and I have two rows of my moms mugs, and then a whole lot of hooks for pots and pans too! Ever since working in the nursing home kitchen I have always loved the idea of hanging every pan and utensil I possibly could. But in our other homes I never had the space for it!  Now I do! And the two cupboards above all this, is where I keep all my teas!!! Yes, yes, I have quite a bit of tea!

Image

Here is what you might see if you come to my front door. I’ve started calling these two Huh What and Who Me because they are in my house.  Haven’t started naming the ones in the yard yet. LOL  11 yo ds has decided to glue googly eyes to just about every rock he comes across. There are a lot of rocks here. LOL There is a wee little part of me that wants to take them, and set them all around town. Like on the ledge outside of McD’s, or right next to the cart stall at Walmart. Might give someone a smile. 😀

Image

And here are the two straps I’ve been working on.  It’s the Blacklight yarn from Red Heart, and the first one has a black weft. Looks awesome!!!

Image

And then here’s the beginning of the one I’m doing with a white weft!!! I think the white one will look even more awesome under the black light, but the black one looks more awesome in the daylight!

Image

More pictures to come soon!!!! Happy Sunday everyone!

TTYL 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

