Interesting yarny things…

So I have my pretzel buckets out working on my leg warmers. Looks like they won’t be finished up by tonight for the first BIG chill of the season. Boooo! I think I will chop some arms off an old sweat shirt, and then wear double pants to bed, with the sweat shirt sleeves as leg warmers over top. I will look freaky, yes. And yes, I am taking my iron. 😛 Might have to go roaming and find me some Cal/Mag too, I reckon.

Anyway, here are the pretzel barrel legwarmers. 56 stitches, k1 p1 all the way, using up scraps.  The kiddo’s were very disturbed at this because, ‘Moooooom, you can’t doooo that! They won’t match!!!!’ So I fixed it so they’ll match. I will do 12 rows of black yarn to start each leg warmer!  Seeeee, they now match…. at least the tops of them will. LOL

Image

Thanks to the yarrrrrrrn crawl across the Rockies I had the perfect excuse to get my wonderful spinning wheel out of storage.  There are two, this one, and the Lendrum single treadle. The Lendrum is wonderful too, and in perfect working order, but I like this one better, even though it is jerry rigged all to crap, because something on the back is missing, and my drive band went out, so I had to fidget me up a new one, and I’m sure there are other things wonky with it, but I ~~loooooove~~ it!!! So it came home first!

Image

And here is my practice spinning on it. I figured since I haven’t spun in eight to twelve months I’d give it a go with something besides my newly purchased yummies!  Not exactly spinning lace weight again…. but I think this’ll do…

Image

Of course then I am bombarded with, ‘Mooooom, I wanna spin!’ So I told them I get my wheel til all my fiber is ~gone~.  M.O.M. stands for mean ol mom, ya know. 😛 So then 14 yo dd was all like, ‘Iiiii know where the spindles are!!! Can I use a spindle? Huh huh huh?’ Hey Dweezy!  She picked the one you sent me soooo long ago, over the Bossie Mini! Imagine that! 😛

Image

Then here is theee big thing we’ve been working on the past couple of days.  Yeah, like I don’t have enough going on we need one more yarny thing, right? So I started making these with the yarny scraps out of my pretzel buckets.  Never fear!  I have four buckets of pretzel scraps, so I will not run out before I finish the leg warmers. 😀 Ain’t it purrrty?

Image

Then when this was done, I hung it up, and immediately started another one!  Happiness!!!

Image

So then 14 yo dd says, ‘whatcha doooin?’ So I gave her some sticks, and she made these.  These are all about 11-12 inches across.  There are many many plans in the works to make lots of smaller ones for the Christmas tree this year! We have hung these up on the Eden door but it sucked to get a picture against all those hand prints and such.

Side note: We found out a couple of weeks ago that Eden is a ~boy~! Makes sense now seeing the marks on the door jamb in the other room, he’s around 6 foot 4 inches when he was 17 years old. Here the girls thought some girly supermodel lived here. LOL Have I mentioned, I ~love~ old houses!!!!

Image

And that is another big ol update of things we’re doing ’round here. Other things on my mind to do… thread up the Inkle Loom, spin spin spin, and I have yet another shawl idea for that purple Lamb Spun yarn I got on the crawl.  That’ll teach me to go cleaning up my desktop, and getting suuuuucked into looking at patterns as I put them in the right folder. Harumpf!

TTYL 🙂

Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

