Storing up!

Today was mostly spent dealing with the fruits and produce from the Farmers Market!  Did I mention how much I loooooove being this close to the farmers market? When I was in FL, before I met dh I used to go just about every weekend to a flea and farmers market. Pretty much stopped doing that, because after we were all married and settled dh thought it was too far to drive, and too much trouble, and there wasn’t anything more local.  So for like 12 years I fell out of the whole fresh fruits and vegi’s aaaaaallllll the time thing.  For the past two months though I have been in absolute ~heaven~!!!!

So today I spent my morning slicing up, and pitting cherries for freezing. I think we had around three or four pounds of them, and at the time we got them they were soooooooooooo good, and everyone was eating them up, and then they went in the fridge, and that was that. Well, I cannot just let it spoil! So today I worked on that, and then on freezing some grapes also. Tomorrow I’m going to cube, and blanch, and freeze some zucchini and squash, just to see how it does. Might have to figure out how to can those though to keep them put up longer,

And I tell ya, my freezer is totally getting stockpiled for winter now. I have ears of corn, and green beans, and melon, and the cherries, and grapes, and peaches, and just about anything else you can think of to pop out, and add to a dish, it’s probably gonna be in there. 😛 I keep telling the farmer market owner guy that next year we probably won’t see him half as much once we get our own garden started.  But this year, I think we are his new favorite customers! 😀

Next week we start our kale, and spinach, and garlic in planter pots! I cannot wait for some fresh kale chips, and our marinated kale stored up in the fridge every few days! Now here’s hoping the weather stays nice all the way through October, like people have been telling us! A little cold will be wonderful, but a huge snowstorm mid October (almost never heard of this far south in CO) would be horrible!!! But it did snow when we were here in April, so who knows what the heck the weather has in store for us!

I think the funnest part of all this sitting and chopping vegis and fruits is that, all the kiddo’s gather around to help here and there, and we talk, and talk, and talk!  I’ve seen so many people posting back to school face book posts, and blogs this week, and how glad they are that they ‘have their quiet time back!’ I don’t think I would trade all the chatter and nuttiness around here for anything!!!! 😀

3 Responses to “Storing up!”

  1. tonyroberts64 Says:

    Good for you, and your family! 🙂

  2. bridget Says:

    It does make me sad how many mums can’t wait for the children to get back to school. It would literally break my heart. People make comments to me too about only a week and they’ll be back and although I just smile and don’t mention home schooling I am quite annoyed to be place in the same group as those mums!


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

