Cell Phones

So when we left FL we decided to get me a cell phone, because it would be all handy dandy and people could call me… pssshh, yeah right. So I got this little dodabber and we put a $15 time card on it, and set it all up and when you call other people with the same service it’s ‘free’ except for the dollar for the first call of the day thing, and then when people that aren’t on the same network call, it’s that dollar a day charge, and then 10 cents a minute.

Well guess what?  I think I’ve used up about a dollar forty of the whole $15, and then all these weird calls from collection agencies for two other different people, and odd ball people at weird hours has sucked up just about all the rest of my money. So no, I don’t think I’ll be staying in the cell phone loop for very long.

I don’t want it, I don’t use it. I keep hitting the buttons on the side of it, and it does weird things.  I’ve taken many pictures by mistake.  It is just an odd and wonky device, that sucks up space. Even yesterday when the neighbors were helping us kitty rescue, the lady got a couple of jingles on her phone in her pocket, and she takes it out, and looks at pictures, and laughs, and shoots off texts left and right…. and I just don’t even know where people find the time for these little devices.  Her husband came up after work, and his went off with a loud ol song, and apparently you can set it to have different sayings, or songs, or rings, for different people that call you, and he knew just who was on the other end before he even had it out of his pocket!  I would like to think everyone I call now and again has their ringtones for me set to the Twilight Zone theme. Just sayin. 😛

6 Responses to “Cell Phones”

  1. journeyof7 Says:

    If I thought you’d ever call me, I’d set mine up for The Twilight Zone for you. 😉

    • spinnermom Says:

      LOL I would maybe, but I am the worst phone person ever. Just about five minutes ago I tried answering another wrong number on my cell phone, and somehow I turned on speaker phone, and took a picture just trying to answering it! Some days I believe I was dropped off in the wrong century!!! :-/

  2. grannyandthebaldguy Says:

    I love my cell phone and no longer have a house phone. I have unlimited talk and text, and am also on line Hubby has cell phone also and so grown kids and grandkids. My ringtone is this girl is on fire and I have ring tones for each person on my phone contact list.
    I am awful<:
    I am also online wiht my cell phone.

  3. annamatrix Says:

    We have pay-by-the-minute cellphones, but they’re never turned on, so… mostly they’re not even charged. LoL! I don’t even know my cellphone number. That’s weird about the sales calls, though – we’ve never had that. :/

    • spinnermom Says:

      Yeah, it’s like I’ve got a recycled number or something and I’m getting creditors calling for a Sharron, and a Lavana. So I don’t know if they are two different people that have had this number, or just one person had the number, and two people using it. Half of the creditors are automated systems so I can’t even tell the machines this isn’t their number anymore, so they just keep dialing back pretty much every Monday and Thursday. Sooo frustrating! And Lavana seems to have been very popular with the men, because I’ve gotten like six different calls from out of state from lots of random guys looking for her. It’s a running joke now that I’ve got ‘some hookers phone’. Meh!

  4. onthewink Says:

    we also have unlimited talk and text. no internet. no smartphone. but as we don’t have a landline, our phones are very important. i do think that people use them too much and i feel sorry for people who are “connected” all the time. i’ve never gotten calls for someone else, an occassional wrong number, but no consistant calls. and i just have some random ringtone that came with the phone. at one time i had “hotel california” as my ringtone, but thats just because my kids set it that way and i didn’t know how to change it. lol. –karen


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Warriors and Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

