The Bags

Here is the next market bag in progress! Just gotta sew it together, and add the handles.  I was thinking of selling this, but then noticed that the purple-ish red yarn has a color problem with lightness and darks. It was in a grab bag of seconds from Peaches and Cream just before they closed shop in NC, and I think the color variation was a problem run.  I look at it as a novelty, but someone buying a bag might not.  Huuumm, some of you might not know about the other market bags I’ve made…

nextmarketbagP6050077

Here they are…

Some cotton, some acrylic. The white and blues one was my first try at this.  We used it here, and dh suggested thicker straps, so the next ones I made I did two rows of crocheted straps.  Basic pattern for this was found in a Knitting Daily Free Ebook. http://www.knittingdaily.com/Knitting-Bags/?a=ke130222  They didn’t do the straps like I did though. But I liked the design of the four pieces of knitting, and how it was put together. So I winged the rest. It’s how I roll. 😛

marketbag1P4080025 marketbag2P4080027 marketbag1P3100033

Pretty much holds four skeins of super saver Red Heart, so you can imagine how much produce, or breads, or whatever, you can get in here. 🙂

marketbagfourskeinsP3100039

Then I started this.  As I was looking over the pattern again, I thought, maaaan the bag in the picture looks not as soft and squishy as mine. So I went down from size eight needles to size five for a tighter knit, and then decided to make this bag smaller. I think it’ll turn out about half (or just a wee smaller than that even) the size of the bag up there.  Good for just a quick market run when you just need maybe tomatoes and cucumbers for your salad, or something. ( I have no garden this year because if the move, so yeah buying tomatoes and cucumbers soooo wouldn’t normally happen… but now I see how it could)

smallmarketbagP6050080

More pictures to come shortly.  I was going to do one of my super loooong picture post but then decided to break it up a bit so things could be categorized.

2 Responses to “The Bags”

  1. bridget Says:

    They look great too. You and your daughter have been very industrious. My son knits most nights alongside me and I just love it. Their enthusiasm is just wonderful.

    • spinnermom Says:

      I totally agree! She thinks outside the box more when shes crafting on things and I like that.

      Thanks for all the lovely comments. It’s hard coming on to WordPress, and leaving 12 years of Xanga behind. Everything feels so empty over here. LOL


Leave a Reply

Rusty Pluck

Get up, brush yourself off and keep going.

Transformer Boy

Autobots, roll out another post...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

artaray.wordpress.com/

Proudly sponsoring creativity and improving ALL creatives lives...

Idlewild Alaska

Small scale homesteading, Alaska style

Operation Gratitude Blog

Care Packages for Deployed U.S. Troops, Veterans, New Recruits, Wounded Heroes, First Responders & Military Children

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Hazel Rose

My Life in the Country

Good to be Home

"It is a happy art, the art of living together in tender love." JRM

Face of cannabis

This is what medical marijuana looks like. Click on the faces below to learn more about these kids. Their stories just might change your mind.

Darkdreamer

Knitting, Spinning and Dyeing - As long as there's yarn I'm happy

cjc22

Just stuff I want to share.

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

